Anthony Stogdill, Shenandoah

Shenandoah senior Anthony Stogdill runs away from a Red Oak defender during a Shenandoah win this season.

Shenandoah senior Anthony Stogdill headlines seven Mustang football players who received all-district recognition, Friday, Nov. 22 with the release of the Class 2A District 9 All-District teams.

Stogdill was named an Elite Specialist after returning three kickoffs for touchdowns during the season. Stogdill also led the team in receiving with 37 catches for 439 yards and three touchdowns.

He was joined on the first team by teammates and classmates Kyle Cerven and Austin Herold.

Cerven passed for 913 yards and 11 touchdowns. He also rushed for 444 yards and another four scores.

Herold anchored the offensive line and led the defense with 45 tackles and eight tackles for loss.

Mustang junior Zayne Zwickel was named a first team kicker/punter. He made 21 of his 25 extra point attempts and three of four field goals with a long of 41. He punted 34 times averaging 31.2 yards per punt.

Mustang sophomore Morgan Cotten was selected to the second team while junior Avery Martin and senior Payton Stephens were honorable mention picks for Shenandoah.

State champion OABCIG’s Cooper Dejean was named the district’s Offensive MVP while Will Hansen of Greene County and Blaise Gunnerson of Kuemper Catholic were named co-Defensive MVP’s. OABCIG’s Larry Allen was named Head Coach of the Year and Travis Chizek Assistant Coach of the Year.

Dejean was also named the Elite Quarterback while teammate Jake Nieman was named an Elite Wide Receiver and Sam Devitt an Elite Offensive Lineman.

Hansen was named an Elite Linebacker along with Justin McCunn of Red Oak. Greene County’s Tyler Miller was named an Elite Offensive Lineman. Greene County’s Xavier Hayes was an Elite Defensive Back. Teammate Carter Morton was named an Elite Wide Receiver and Elite Specialist.

Gunnerson was named Elite Linebacker. Atlantic’s Tyler Moen earned Elite Running Back honors.

The rest of the district’s first and second team selections, as well as honorable mention, are listed below, by team.

Atlantic: 1st team: Moen, Cale Roller, Colin Mullenix, Garrett Reynolds, Grant Sturm. 2nd Team: Bodie Johnson, Gunner Kirchhoff. Honorable mention: Nile Petersen, Devin McKay, Brayden Atkinson, Joe Weaver.

Greene County: 1st Team: Hansen, Morton, Miller, Hayes, Brent Riley, Colby Kafer, Nick Breon, Cael Fisher (kicker/punter). 2nd Team: Gage Michaelsen, Bradyn Smith. Honorable Mention: Cole Betts, Brandon Hoyle, Jackson Morton, Joe Patterson, Mason Stream, Jaxon Wamke.

Kuemper Catholic: 1st Team: Gunnerson, Cole Collison, Kurtis Ramsey, Kyle Berg, Simon Wagner (kicker/punter). 2nd Team: Caden Wittrock, Tre Knobbe. Honorable Mention: Truman Haukap, Connor Stoelk, Jake Hugeback, Wagner.

Red Oak: 1st Team: McCunn, Jacob Athen. Honorable Mention: Carter Maynes, Jake Echternach, Dawson Bond.

OABCIG: 1st team: Nieman, Devitt, Dejean, Tevin Harms, William Grote, Easton Harms, Ethan Shever. 2nd Team: Austin Wunschel, Jarrett Hewitt, Tallon Johnson, Trust Wells. Honorable Mention: Carson Godberson, Gavin Parks, Cameron Sharkey, Zach Dunker.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.